Enabling today.
Inspiring tomorrow.

 AMD Compute Cores

Compute Cores Diagram

​With HSA, both the CPU and GPU cores are compute cores

  • hUMA advances how processors inside an APU access memory
  • hQ revolutionizes how processors inside an APU interact with each other to handle computational tasks

Tech-savvy shoppers often measure computing capability based on the number of cores that the processors (CPUs) and graphics cards (GPUs) have. However, AMD’s revolutionary new APU (Accelerated Processing Unit) technology combines the power of the CPU and the GPU on a single chip.1 We needed an easy way to let customers compare the enhanced power brought by the APU – "Compute Cores." A Compute Core is any core capable of running at least one process in its own context and virtual memory space, independently from other cores.

A Compute Core can be either a CPU core or GPU core.

To illustrate, we can describe a given APU, such as the AMD A10-7850K APU, as having 12 Compute Cores, consisting of four CPU cores and eight GPU cores.

Non HSA vs. HSA Chart 

Beginning  with the first generation of heterogeneous processors (based on the architecture of the APU and released in 2014), AMD is designating the number of Compute Cores in the following manner:

AMD A10-7850K APU with AMD Radeon™ R7 graphics

  • 12 Compute Cores (4 CPU + 8 GPU)

For a deeper dive into Compute Core characteristics, check out our Compute Cores white paper.